Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Blue Star
Feb 18, 2013

by FactsAreUseless
I'm no expert but I recall reading somewhere that Valhalla was for warriors who died in battle, but normal people who died of old age or disease went to Helheim, which is much more like the Greco-Roman Hades, where it's kinda gloomy. Also I think Freya got half of all warriors that died in battle, and Odin got the other half. Odin's half went to Valhalla and Freya's half went to some fields or something.

Valhalla seems to be a uniquely Norse concept. I don't think the pagan Anglo-Saxons had a concept of it, or the older pre-Roman Germanic people.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Doltos
Dec 28, 2005

🤌🤌🤌

Blue Star posted:

I'm no expert but I recall reading somewhere that Valhalla was for warriors who died in battle, but normal people who died of old age or disease went to Helheim, which is much more like the Greco-Roman Hades, where it's kinda gloomy. Also I think Freya got half of all warriors that died in battle, and Odin got the other half. Odin's half went to Valhalla and Freya's half went to some fields or something.

Valhalla seems to be a uniquely Norse concept. I don't think the pagan Anglo-Saxons had a concept of it, or the older pre-Roman Germanic people.