Search Amazon.com:
Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us $3,400 per month for bandwidth bills alone, and since we don't believe in shoving popup ads to our registered users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.
The Agent
Mar 10, 2008

The face of three franchises

I graduated school last May (2010) and moved from Ohio, where I went to school, out to the DC area shortly after graduation to start my new job. I kept up with my student loans and the repayment expectations and timeframes pretty well throughout school so I wouldn't be surprised when my grace period was over in November/December. I had taken out many separate federal loans in a mix of unsubsidized and subsidized that are now treated as one loan since they're all at 6.8%, all out of grace period, and all being serviced by Direct Loan Servicing. I also had two smaller private loans through Discover bank (I've since paid off one that was at a higher rate than the federal loans). I had received letters every few months from Discover and DLS about interest capitalization and debt balances, and went through exit counseling on both of them. Needless to say, I was informed about the payments, due dates, and balances on these loans, and started paying them all in December, and had no problems up until two months ago...