Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
SoundMonkey
Apr 22, 2006

I just push buttons.

There's an HDR thread, there's a business thread, but there appeared to be no lighting thread. I've never been good at wall of text OPs, but I'll give it a shot anyways. I'll be focusing more on continuous, hot-shoe flash and studio strobe lights, as I have limited experience with complex setups using available light. As always, ask questions, we have plenty of people here who are better at this than I am who can answer them for you.

Introduction

The purpose, generally, of using artificial lighting in photography is to either provide all the light necessary for a proper exposure, or supplement the existing (available) light to get a proper exposure. Additionally, the light is used as a creative element in the photograph, to define the subject and create mood. How to use your lights artistically is beyond the scope of this, and in the end is something you really have to learn for yourself. The best way to start doing this is to look at picture you like - if you sit down and think about it for a few minutes, you can usually get a rough idea of the lighting setup. With a little more thought, you can sometimes work out exactly what the photographer did. Stop by the Photo A Day thread, and if you see something you like, you can always ask how it was done.