Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Jiminy Krimpet
May 13, 2010

My name is Jiminy Krimpet, and I am a Falcoholic.
Welp, that's pretty comprehensive. Nice first post, thanks for putting all of it together. I'm no expert but I've been to my share of derby events over the past few years and you pretty much covered everything I know.

I will point out that "games" are called "bouts." I've never heard anyone who was familiar with derby call them "games," but you seem to know your stuff, perhaps they call them "games" in LA?

Jiminy Krimpet fucked around with this message at 03:51 on Oct 14, 2010

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Jiminy Krimpet
May 13, 2010

WindyMan posted:

No, they're called games. If Jerry Seltzer, the Jesus* of roller derby, calls them games, then they're called games. Always have been.

He makes reference to this fact all the time on his blog.

*The Son of The Father of Roller Derby

Oh, so it's a religious thing. :colbert: Carry on then.

Jiminy Krimpet
May 13, 2010

Oh, also, this video might be handy in explaining the basics of how derby works.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_T8izdlc-dY

BRB, gotta move these microwave ovens.

Jiminy Krimpet
May 13, 2010

I agree 100%.