Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Jam2
Jan 15, 2008

With Energy For Mayhem
This Fall I will be a college junior. So far, I've been admitted to the CS programs at Michigan and Illinois, but I've also applied to CMU, Stanford, and I'm on the wait-list at MIT.

Academically, I'm a strong student, but I'm totally new to the field of study. I've been around IT my whole life, but I just started programming a few months ago.

How do I make myself employable as a software engineer in two years? Can I be competitive straight out of undergrad with whizkid hackers who've already put in their 10,000 hours?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Jam2
Jan 15, 2008

With Energy For Mayhem

umbrage posted:

Does this get you excited? Do you see how an algorithm, developed in 1956, is still relevant to some of the most important computational issues of the current day? Do you appreciate its elegance? Even if you can't put it in to words, or put it in code yet, can you conceptualize ways to improve it?

Yeah, this sort of stuff is the reason I'm interested in the field. I want to be more than what people consider a "computer programmer" (someone who knows how to give instructions to a computer).

I'd like to be a problem solver/scientist/engineer in the realm of computing.