Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

americong
May 29, 2013

Incredibly massive blunders on my part, leading to a request for advice on what to do.

I'm a CS student between my third and fourth years. I have a lovely resume, so I was having bad luck getting an internship.

I get referred by a friend to a startup. I go in and interview, the place is cool and the work is cool. Nothing about pay gets mentioned at that time, but I (lol) figure there will be some sort of formal paperwork with it on there later.

The person leading the dev team says go ahead and come in.

When I start, they have me fill out a W-9, an NDA, and that's it. Okay.

Fast forward three weeks - ~compensation~ gets mentioned a couple times in emails to the interns. I'm getting paid something, I figure. The work's really nice, anyways - great language, great project, not a lot of bullshit.

Today I remember that thing I was worrying about way earlier, email the person who's been acting as HR contact for the interns, and she says my direct boss told me in the interview it was unpaid. (I probably would have remembered that - oh well.)

I email him, ask what's up with the situation. He walks over to my cube, says he doesn't play that poo poo, and repeats that he said in the interview that it was unpaid. I tell him calm down, it's worth my time to be here, there was just a misunderstanding. He is greatly mollified.