Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

dizzywhip
Dec 23, 2005

So I'm trying to do some basic audio programming in Cocoa (OS X, not iOS) and I'm having a lot of trouble. I'm totally new to audio programming, so it'd be nice to have a nice, simple walkthrough on how to do some basic tasks, but Apple's audio documentation is pretty awful.

Specifically, I want to generate some MIDI data and play it back with standard MIDI instruments. The only concrete example I can find that does what I want is this. That works fine I guess, but it doesn't really explain what it's doing for the most part. I can follow by example well enough, but I feel like I don't really understand half of it.

I'm also not really happy with this code in that the MIDI events need to be generated in real time. I was hoping to generate a bunch of midi data beforehand and then pass that off somewhere to play.

I'm sure I would have found something on Google if it was out there, but if anyone knows of any resources that focus on getting started with this stuff from a total beginner's perspective that would be awesome. Or if there's some kind of higher-level audio framework I could use that would be great too. Everything I found seemed to be really out of date though.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

dizzywhip
Dec 23, 2005