Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Agreed
Dec 30, 2003

The price of meat has just gone up, and your old lady has just gone down

Dogen, I highly advise you pick up an Asus GTX 670 DirectCU, overclock the crap out of it, and supply me with a very affordable GTX 580 to end my torment in Metro 2033. We can haggle on power supply needs. This is professional advice, I am a professional.

If as your avatar might suggest you like guitar stuff, I have some amazing gear we could work out as a trade... Think on it :D

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Agreed
Dec 30, 2003

spasticColon posted:

I ordered a HD7850 Tuesday and Amazon still hasn't shipped it. I guess that's what I get for selecting the free shipping.:f5:

The main reason I got one is that I saw in benchmarks the HD7850 runs Skyrim and BF3 a lot better than the 560Ti. Is there a specific reason for this?

Yes and no - nVidia had issues with Skyrim from launch. There was a driver update that netted me a solid 30-40% performance increase in Skyrim on my GTX 580. So it could be driver related. Or, it could be that AMD/ATI's architecture is better for what Skyrim does than nVidia's. Or, it could be that AMD/ATI's drivers knock it outta the park on that engine, while nVidia's still struggle some by comparison.