Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Leon Einstein
Feb 6, 2012
I must win every thread in GBS. I don't care how much banal semantic quibbling and shitty posts it takes.
I work as a one man administrator at a small company, and I've had experience deploying 2003 servers and AD along with fixing anything that could go wrong IT related at a company. I don't have any certs, but I'm fairly knowledgeable. I'm looking to get out of here, but I don't know which path to lay out. I basically need to start from scratch. What should I start with? Ideally I'd like to administer enterprise nservers.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Leon Einstein
Feb 6, 2012
I must win every thread in GBS. I don't care how much banal semantic quibbling and shitty posts it takes.

incoherent posted:

Do you want to stick with microsoft solutions or are you open to learning linux? I would seriously invest in learning a hypervisor stack (microsoft or VMware) if you're looking at the next level.

I'm just more comfortable with Microsoft stuff, but I'm willing to expand my horizons. Thanks for the ideas. I know virtualization seems to be the future.

Leon Einstein
Feb 6, 2012