Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Relyssa
Jul 29, 2012

Has anyone taken the new 800-series A+ yet? Looks like its no longer simply multiple choice, part of it is some sort of interactive thing now, just curious what that's all about.

Also, I have just under 2 years of support experience. If I wanted to go for a career path, would just the A+ suffice in getting more callbacks, or would I definitely need N+ too?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Relyssa
Jul 29, 2012

Xenaero posted:

So I have to buy two $160+ vouchers for the A+ test? That seems pretty greedy, why is it split into two exams?

quote:

In order to get certified, you must pass two exams: CompTIA A+ Essentials and CompTIA A+ Practical Application. This voucher is valid for ONE of the following CompTIA A+ exams:

220-701 or 220-801 for CompTIA A+ Essentials
220-702 or 220-802 for CompTIA A+ Practical Application

Yep, gotta buy separate ones for both.

Relyssa
Jul 29, 2012

Lunaris posted:

Yay passed CompTIA A+ :toot:

Test was a lot easier than I expected, although the things I didn't know I straight up didn't know.

Any advice to someone who's planning on taking it? Specific stuff to memorize, out of left field questions, etc?

Relyssa
Jul 29, 2012

blakout posted:

Just passed A+802 by the scruff of the neck it's no joke make sure you have command line rock solid. And 801 make sure you know mobo components and wireless standards