Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
GigaFool
Oct 22, 2001

Dr. Lenin posted:

I'm a stupid newbie cook who is really paranoid about getting sick from undercooked cuts of meat. What are the best cuts of beef that I don't have to worry about cooking to rare / medium-rare, and are there any stores I should just avoid getting meat from altogether or does it not really matter?

Just about any whole piece of beef is likely safe to eat undercooked. Generally ground beef is what people worry about, because any surface bacteria has been mixed into the meat.

Generally the cuts that work the best rare to medium-rare are the NY strip and tenderloin (which are also the two muscles that make up T-bones and porterhouses), ribeye, flatiron steak (also sold as top-blade chuck steak), tritip, skirt steak and flank steak (sometimes sold as london broil).

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

GigaFool
Oct 22, 2001

Got the grill up to 650-700.

GigaFool
Oct 22, 2001

For those of you looking for good 'cheap' steaks, try to find flatiron steaks, also sold as top-blade chuck steak. It's usually relatively cheap, yet it's marbled well and second only to the tenderloin in tenderness.

The cool thing about it is that it's marvelous in stews as well as seared and served med-rare.

GigaFool
Oct 22, 2001