Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
chitoryu12
Apr 24, 2014

Wanamingo posted:

New Red Faction looking good

Turns out Syria is not unlike Red Faction Guerrilla.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAP7YDL6FTI

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

chitoryu12
Apr 24, 2014

On a related note, I started playing Red Faction: Armageddon. My general impression is that it would have been quite well-received if it hadn't been following up on Guerrilla. It's actually a fairly solid and arcadey third-person shooter, and if it stood on its own it would have been a good 8/10 game just for being fun. Unfortunately, Volition tried to follow up an incredibly fun sandbox game based around a very unique destruction engine with a corridor shooter in mostly non-destructible environments against swarms of alien insects.

It may have been better for them to just get the license for Alien Swarm or something and restyle the game into a remake using the exact same gameplay and destruction physics. It would have been much more acceptable to the general public.

chitoryu12
Apr 24, 2014

Woebin posted: