Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.
 
  • Post
  • Reply
evil_bunnY
Apr 2, 2003



bort posted:

You're probably right about it defaulting to ISL, anyway. That's probably the issue.

I don't think that's the issue:

code:
Nex-Two# show interface port-channel1 capabilities 
port-channel1
  Model:                 unavailable
  Type (Non SFP):        unknown
  Speed:                 1000,10000
  Duplex:                full
  Trunk encap. type:     802.1Q
  Channel:               yes
  Broadcast suppression: percentage(0-100)
  Flowcontrol:           rx-(off/on),tx-(off/on)
  Rate mode:             none
  QOS scheduling:        rx-(none),tx-(none)
  CoS rewrite:           no
  ToS rewrite:           no
  SPAN:                  yes
  UDLD:                  no
  Link Debounce:         no
  Link Debounce Time:    no
  MDIX:                  no
  Pvlan Trunk capable:   no
  TDR capable:           no
  FabricPath capable:    no
  Port mode:             Switched
  FEX Fabric:            no
One thing that I'd like to know:
code:
Nex-Two# sho int port-channel1
port-channel1 is up
 vPC Status: Up, vPC number: 1
  Hardware: Port-Channel, address: 547f.eea0.0e08 (bia 547f.eea0.0e08)
  Description: netapp2240_1
  MTU 1500 bytes, BW 10000000 Kbit, DLY 10 usec
  reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
  Encapsulation ARPA
  Port mode is trunk
  full-duplex, 10 Gb/s
  Input flow-control is off, output flow-control is off
  Switchport monitor is off 
  EtherType is 0x8100 
  Members in this channel: Eth1/1 <-- is this normal?
  Last clearing of "show interface" counters never
  30 seconds input rate 32 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
  30 seconds output rate 88 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
  Load-Interval #2: 5 minute (300 seconds)
    input rate 32 bps, 0 pps; output rate 56 bps, 0 pps
  RX
    445 unicast packets  8400 multicast packets  0 broadcast packets
    8845 input packets  1130406 bytes
    0 jumbo packets  0 storm suppression bytes
    0 runts  0 giants  0 CRC  0 no buffer
    0 input error  0 short frame  0 overrun   0 underrun  0 ignored
    0 watchdog  0 bad etype drop  0 bad proto drop  0 if down drop
    0 input with dribble  0 input discard
    0 Rx pause
  TX
    0 unicast packets  20863 multicast packets  19 broadcast packets
    20882 output packets  4921431 bytes
    0 jumbo packets
    0 output errors  0 collision  0 deferred  0 late collision
    0 lost carrier  0 no carrier  0 babble 0 output discard
    0 Tx pause
  2 interface resets
How can I check that one port on each switch is a member of a port-channel on the same VPC domain? I'm pretty sure that part works anyway, because it showed a native vlan mismatch (in the vpc info) when I removed the native vlan on one switch but not yet on the other.

None of the ports show as UP (on the Nexus or the Netapp controllers), and I've got no MAC records associated with ethernet port 1/1 on the nexuses (makes sense when the ports are down). The link lights are on. I don't get why the interfaces won't come up.

evil_bunnY fucked around with this message at 12:45 on Sep 20, 2012

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

adorai
Nov 2, 2002

10/27/04 Never forget

Grimey Drawer

Did you make sure the media is supported by both the netapp and the nexus?

evil_bunnY
Apr 2, 2003



Yeah it's all cisco.

YOLOsubmarine
Oct 19, 2004

When asked which Pokemon he evolved into, Kamara pauses.

"Motherfucking, what's that big dragon shit? That orange motherfucker. Charizard."



evil_bunnY posted:

Yeah it's all cisco.

So you said you can't ping the gateway, but can the two controllers ping one another across their 731 interfaces?

1000101
May 14, 2003

BIRTHDAY BIRTHDAY BIRTHDAY BIRTHDAY BIRTHDAY BIRTHDAY FRUITCAKE!

evil_bunnY posted:


Nex-One# sho vpc
Legend:
(*) - local vPC is down, forwarding via vPC peer-link

vPC domain id : 1
Peer status : peer adjacency formed ok
vPC keep-alive status : peer is alive
Configuration consistency status: success
Per-vlan consistency status : success
Type-2 consistency status : success
vPC role : primary
Number of vPCs configured : 7
Peer Gateway : Disabled
Dual-active excluded VLANs : -
Graceful Consistency Check : Enabled

vPC Peer-link status
---------------------------------------------------------------------
id Port Status Active vlans
-- ---- ------ --------------------------------------------------
1 Po100 up 1,3-4,50,730-749,920

vPC status
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
id Port Status Consistency Reason Active vlans
------ ----------- ------ ----------- -------------------------- -----------
1 Po1 up success success 731,738-739
2 Po2 up success success 731,738-739
11 Po11 down* Not Consistency Check Not -
Applicable Performed
12 Po12 down* Not Consistency Check Not -
Applicable Performed
13 Po13 down* Not Consistency Check Not -
Applicable Performed
14 Po14 down* Not Consistency Check Not -
Applicable Performed
15 Po15 down* Not Consistency Check Not -
Applicable Performed
[/code]

I'm looking into the encapsulation now.

What does:
show vpc consistency-parameters interface po 11

show?

Also have you shut/no shut the interfaces in recent memory?

evil_bunnY
Apr 2, 2003



NippleFloss posted:

So you said you can't ping the gateway, but can the two controllers ping one another across their 731 interfaces?

code:
netappcontroller01> ping public.81.183
public.81.183 is alive
netappcontroller01> ping public.81.184
public.81.184 is alive
Should I just go wrap my hands around my network team's collective necks?

1000101 posted:

What does:
show vpc consistency-parameters interface po 11

show?

Also have you shut/no shut the interfaces in recent memory?

code:
Nex-One# show vpc consistency-parameters interface port-channel 1

    Legend:
        Type 1 : vPC will be suspended in case of mismatch

Name                        Type  Local Value            Peer Value             
-------------               ----  ---------------------- -----------------------
Shut Lan                    1     No                     No                    
STP Port Type               1     Edge Trunk Port        Edge Trunk Port       
STP Port Guard              1     None                   None                  
STP MST Simulate PVST       1     Default                Default               
lag-id                      1     [(1, 2-a0-98-1d-21-6,  [(1, 2-a0-98-1d-21-6, 
                                  1, 0, 0), (7f9b,       1, 0, 0), (7f9b,      
                                  0-23-4-ee-be-1, 8001,  0-23-4-ee-be-1, 8001, 
                                  0, 0)]                 0, 0)]                
mode                        1     active                 active                
Speed                       1     10 Gb/s                10 Gb/s               
Duplex                      1     full                   full                  
Port Mode                   1     trunk                  trunk                 
Native Vlan                 1     1                      1                     
MTU                         1     1500                   1500                  
Admin port mode             1                                                  
Allowed VLANs               -     731,738-739            731,738-739           
Local suspended VLANs       -     -                      -
I assume you meant 1 instead of 11 (which isn't in use).

I reloaded both switches a couple of times in the past few days.

e: hold the presses. It works now. I could swear it didn't last time I tried removing the native vlan. Urgh.

evil_bunnY fucked around with this message at 14:10 on Sep 21, 2012

bort
Mar 13, 2003



What a letdown. I learned a lot about vPC because of you!

Goon Matchmaker
Oct 23, 2003

I play too much EVE-Online

I'm having a serious gently caress EMC day. I just ran across a stupid bug in their sans.

If you have a vmware host with an IQN that contains uppercase character(s) and you enable chap with the VNXe3300, the VNX will replace the uppercase characters with lowercase and the login from the ESX host will fail.

Example of the failure case:
ESX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:NORTHSTAR-05ec8187
VNX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:northstar-05ec8187 (never mind that I pasted the ESX IQN directly in to the VNX, the VNX still did the replacement.)

Example of a working case:
ESX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:northstar-05ec8187 (had to enter this manually into the ESX SWISCSI adapter.)
VNX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:northstar-05ec8187

I think this is likely a bug in the UI of the VNXe but I'm not sure.

Amandyke
Nov 27, 2004

A wha?

Goon Matchmaker posted:

I'm having a serious gently caress EMC day. I just ran across a stupid bug in their sans.

If you have a vmware host with an IQN that contains uppercase character(s) and you enable chap with the VNXe3300, the VNX will replace the uppercase characters with lowercase and the login from the ESX host will fail.

Example of the failure case:
ESX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:NORTHSTAR-05ec8187
VNX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:northstar-05ec8187 (never mind that I pasted the ESX IQN directly in to the VNX, the VNX still did the replacement.)

Example of a working case:
ESX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:northstar-05ec8187 (had to enter this manually into the ESX SWISCSI adapter.)
VNX IQN: iqn.1998-01.com.vmware:northstar-05ec8187

I think this is likely a bug in the UI of the VNXe but I'm not sure.

You are correct that it is a bug in the VNXe's software. The offending version appears to be 2.2.0.17142 and the bug was fixed in the subsequent version 2.2.0.17384. The ways to fix it in place are:

1) Change all of your IQN names to only include lowercase letters.
2) If you don't want to do that, you would need to have Engineering log into the box to perform some back end magic (seemingly to hand edit the IQN names in the configuration) to allow for the uppercase IQN's. They would potentially need to log back in at a later time again if the names got changed back to lower case in the config.

evil_bunnY
Apr 2, 2003



bort posted:

What a letdown. I learned a lot about vPC because of you!
so sorry! I learned a ton too so heh :)

Thanks for the help everyone.

YOLOsubmarine
Oct 19, 2004

When asked which Pokemon he evolved into, Kamara pauses.

"Motherfucking, what's that big dragon shit? That orange motherfucker. Charizard."



evil_bunnY posted:

so sorry! I learned a ton too so heh :)

Thanks for the help everyone.
You may want to disable the ip.fastpath option on the filers as it can have some unfortunate side effects in vPC environments.

Vanilla
Feb 24, 2002

Hay guys what's going on in th

ZombieReagan posted:

Ok, that's some helpful information - thanks. The storage virtualization itself is nice for a way to help simplify some of the more mundane storage work, but replication is that part that I'll have to use in order to convince upper management to let me spend money on it. I don't know that we NEED the kind of features VPLEX has, but it certainly wouldn't be a bad thing. It'll all come down to cost, but this sort of summary helps me keep an open mind about those products. Thanks again.

In many ways it's important to remember that storage virtualization doesn't really make anything more simple. Marketing says it is simple. In practice it is adding another layer in between your storage and users at significant cost too. VPLEX. SVC, incipient and such are not cheap.

Arrays these days are getting easier and easier to manage at scale. Arrays such as the XIV are a prime example. Additional features in arrays have made things easier (VMware plugins, pools of storage, etc.)

Data migration is the exception, it's a *lot* easier to retire an old array if you're using something like SVC. migrations are one of the few times when all departments have to work together and it's hated. Storage virtualization can make this process a lot less of a chore. A lot of EMC customers used Powerpath migration enabler, which basically allows for the data to be moved without down time but also without any virtualization layer.

I'd ignore any 'simple' reasoning and just focus on what it will give your business. Migrations without downtime is desirable and valuable to the business. Making your life easier is probably about 40 items down the list :)

Vulture Culture
Jul 14, 2003

I was never enjoying it. I only eat it for the nutrients.


Vanilla posted:

Data migration is the exception, it's a *lot* easier to retire an old array if you're using something like SVC
Or Storage vMotion :)

evil_bunnY
Apr 2, 2003



Misogynist posted:

Or Storage vMotion :)
Yeah. That and DFS.

adorai
Nov 2, 2002

10/27/04 Never forget

Grimey Drawer

Misogynist posted:

Or Storage vMotion :)
That still doesn't help with a LUN. When we pulled the trigger on replacing our netapp 3140 with a 3240 (so we could use the 3140 at our DR site) me and one of the guys on my team worked about 65 hours each that week. Not terrible, but still a lot more than normal. Our end users were mostly unaffected, though we did have a lun go offline on our mail server the next week because autogrowth was disabled.

Probably not my favorite week of work.

YOLOsubmarine
Oct 19, 2004

When asked which Pokemon he evolved into, Kamara pauses.

"Motherfucking, what's that big dragon shit? That orange motherfucker. Charizard."



adorai posted:

That still doesn't help with a LUN. When we pulled the trigger on replacing our netapp 3140 with a 3240 (so we could use the 3140 at our DR site) me and one of the guys on my team worked about 65 hours each that week. Not terrible, but still a lot more than normal. Our end users were mostly unaffected, though we did have a lun go offline on our mail server the next week because autogrowth was disabled.

Probably not my favorite week of work.

Datamotion for vFiler is intended to help solve this problem. You can non-disruptively move vFilers between arrays. This is also one of the big selling points of cluster mode since you can move anything anywhere to phase in or phase out new equipment easily.

If your volume manager supports it, and most modern OSes do, you can also create a mirrored raid group with the new storage as one half of the mirror, then break it off after it has silvered. That's how I've done most of the ZFS and Veritas migrations I've done.

YOLOsubmarine fucked around with this message at 02:16 on Sep 26, 2012

Crackbone
May 23, 2003

Vlaada is my co-pilot.



Is it cool to ask about SMB storage here?

We're looking to move into NAS here - small environment but we need something more robust than the "prosumer" units. My initial goal is ~1TB for file storage and potentially up to 5 iSCSI targets (VM dev environment, additional dedicated storage on individual servers). I want an 8-bay unit to accommodate potential growth.

Budget is ~$5000 (including disks), which pretty much keeps me out of even the entry-level netapp stuff. Right now it looks like my best option is a QNAP TS-879U. Is there any serious competitors in that price range?

Also, SAS disks - any recommendations for brands/models? Looking at the 300GB range.

evil_bunnY
Apr 2, 2003



My personal opinion is that unless you need HA, ZFS on BSD will be better than most SMB-oriented NAS units, especially with big old SATA drives.

This also means you can build stupid fast pools with relatively cheap SSDs. It's fun to saturate 10GBE links with <$1k worth of flash.

adorai
Nov 2, 2002

10/27/04 Never forget

Grimey Drawer

NippleFloss posted:

Datamotion for vFiler is intended to help solve this problem. You can non-disruptively move vFilers between arrays.
We did use this, but it wasn't exactly fool proof. We had a lot of snapmirror problems and still had to remap every lun. It was much less painful than doing it all manually.

Wifi Toilet
Oct 1, 2004



Toilet Rascal

Cross posting from the system building thread since I didn't get an answer. This might be a better place for it since you guys would know server stuff...

Quick dumb question about server boards and compatible memory (unbuffered/registered is throwing me off.)

Will this memory...
Kingston 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Registered DDR3 1600 Server Memory DR x4 Intel Model KVR16R11D4K4/32I
work in...
SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCM-F-O LGA 1155 Intel C204 Micro ATX Intel Xeon E3 Server Motherboard

Or do I have to use this kit?
Kingston 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 Server Memory w/TS Model KVR16E11K4/32

The specs page says it supports unbuffered, but is it required?

Montesquieu
Apr 28, 2008

look at this witty text

Bagarthach posted:

Cross posting from the system building thread since I didn't get an answer. This might be a better place for it since you guys would know server stuff...

Quick dumb question about server boards and compatible memory (unbuffered/registered is throwing me off.)

Will this memory...
Kingston 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Registered DDR3 1600 Server Memory DR x4 Intel Model KVR16R11D4K4/32I
work in...
SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCM-F-O LGA 1155 Intel C204 Micro ATX Intel Xeon E3 Server Motherboard

Or do I have to use this kit?
Kingston 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 Server Memory w/TS Model KVR16E11K4/32

The specs page says it supports unbuffered, but is it required?

You want that latter kit.

If it supports unbuffered memory, it's not going to be able to use registered memory. Registered memory = "buffered" memory.

Wifi Toilet
Oct 1, 2004



Toilet Rascal

Montesquieu posted:

You want that latter kit.

If it supports unbuffered memory, it's not going to be able to use registered memory. Registered memory = "buffered" memory.

Thank you!

Xenomorph
Jun 13, 2001


Does anyone have any experience with Partners Data?
http://www.partnersdata.com/cgi-bin/productinfo?division=systems&id=761

Another department here has been using them for a while now, and they say they're pretty happy with them.

They're pricier than the cheap QNAP stuff I was looking at, but still cheaper than Dell.

Vulture Culture
Jul 14, 2003

I was never enjoying it. I only eat it for the nutrients.


Xenomorph posted:

Does anyone have any experience with Partners Data?
http://www.partnersdata.com/cgi-bin/productinfo?division=systems&id=761

Another department here has been using them for a while now, and they say they're pretty happy with them.

They're pricier than the cheap QNAP stuff I was looking at, but still cheaper than Dell.
Can you stop posting in this thread? Every single thing you ask is a really bad idea, and you must be a glutton for punishment, because you don't listen to a single thing from people who do this poo poo for a living and actually know what they're talking about, and you keep coming back here to ask ridiculous questions about Xserve RAIDs and off-brand SANs.

paperchaseguy
Feb 21, 2002

THEY'RE GONNA SAY NO

Xenomorph posted:

Does anyone have any experience with Partners Data?
http://www.partnersdata.com/cgi-bin/productinfo?division=systems&id=761

Another department here has been using them for a while now, and they say they're pretty happy with them.

They're pricier than the cheap QNAP stuff I was looking at, but still cheaper than Dell.

i think you're wanted here

Docjowles
Apr 9, 2009



paperchaseguy posted:

i think you're wanted here

:iceburn: drat, dog.

Xenomorph
Jun 13, 2001


Misogynist posted:

Can you stop posting in this thread? Every single thing you ask is a really bad idea, and you must be a glutton for punishment, because you don't listen to a single thing from people who do this poo poo for a living and actually know what they're talking about, and you keep coming back here to ask ridiculous questions about Xserve RAIDs and off-brand SANs.

I have no problem with people thinking my questions are ridiculous. I'm trying to learn and gather information.

From previous replies in this thread I went and tested some iSCSI setups.
Also, after speaking with other people that "do this poo poo for a living", they recommend Partners Data due to the reliability of hardware and level of support they received.

If it's a bad idea, I would like to know why.

YOLOsubmarine
Oct 19, 2004

When asked which Pokemon he evolved into, Kamara pauses.

"Motherfucking, what's that big dragon shit? That orange motherfucker. Charizard."



Xenomorph posted:

I have no problem with people thinking my questions are ridiculous. I'm trying to learn and gather information.

From previous replies in this thread I went and tested some iSCSI setups.
Also, after speaking with other people that "do this poo poo for a living", they recommend Partners Data due to the reliability of hardware and level of support they received.

If it's a bad idea, I would like to know why.

Partners Data is just a reseller, not a vendor. So who actually makes the SAN you linked? What software is running on it to provide storage services? What is their largest deployment? Can they provide a few references to customers who have used the product for some time? Can you find any independent reviews of the product? Are there any independent benchmarks like SPC or SPEC to validate the performance claims? Is there an active community around the product that can provide insight into the day to day challenges? Can you find a single post anywhere on the internet from an actual user of the product discussing their experiences?

I mean, if you google "Surfraid Triton" you get pages and pages of links back to the product info page and one guy asking if anyone has ever used it for PostGres on a forum, a question to which no one responds. That is bad. If there is no useful information on a product anywhere online then you should probably elect not to put business critical data on it. There are a ton of established storage vendors to choose from and some even have fairly cheap offerings like Dell with the PowerVault line. Talk to one of them. At least you'll know what you're getting.

bort
Mar 13, 2003



Xenomorph posted:

If it's a bad idea, I would like to know why.
Some part of this array will fail eventually. Partners Data may or may not be around then. Their support likely won't be very good. You may be the only one that's had that particular problem, and there's nothing on Google and it'll be hard to fix. And ultimately, if it really shits itself and dies during your eventual failure, you then lose data and it's either lost time restoring or worse, lost work.

You sound like you're in a tight budget environment, and well, who shouldn't be? If you're really that tight and your company doesn't care about good support, you should build a disk array yourself or hire someone to build it to get the best price. If you want to someone else to be responsible for the risk of having a SAN fail for your company, then you buy from one of the vendors that people in this thread talk about. If some guy recommends Partners Data, find out how many times they've had to fix it. "Works great right now" from some guy is not enough to define storage strategy.

Vulture Culture
Jul 14, 2003

I was never enjoying it. I only eat it for the nutrients.


Xenomorph posted:

I have no problem with people thinking my questions are ridiculous. I'm trying to learn and gather information.

From previous replies in this thread I went and tested some iSCSI setups.
Also, after speaking with other people that "do this poo poo for a living", they recommend Partners Data due to the reliability of hardware and level of support they received.

If it's a bad idea, I would like to know why.
In addition to the very good reasons that the above posters have mentioned, when you're dealing with an off-brand SAN, it's basically a black box. You have no ability to go in and fix anything when the poo poo hits the fan and the tiny vendor has decided that they no longer make enough money to provide support for their product on weekends. It's all the drawbacks of vendor-supported SAN and whitebox SuperMicro/Tyan commodity NAS, with none of the advantages of either besides dual controllers.

Rhymenoserous
May 23, 2008


paperchaseguy posted:

i think you're wanted here

Goddammit. Just mousing over that makes my blood pressure rise.

Somewhere on Spiceworks right now someone in a multi million dollar company asking "What is a good first SAN/NAS" is being told "No bro, you don't need all that just slap you together a throw away server and some trend micro storage rack you found at the dump".

Rhymenoserous fucked around with this message at 13:06 on Oct 3, 2012

CovfefeCatCafe
Apr 11, 2006

A fresh attitude
brewed daily!


So tell me what a terrible decision I am making.

I'm currently looking at going to work for Dell Compellent as some flavor of support monkey. I do want this job, so I'm using this thread to bone up on Enterprise Storage, and yes, I've read the OP.

What is SA's OfficialTM opinion on Dell Compellent? How does (Automated) Tiered Storage work? What should I read up on to not sound like some idiot that just memorized a bunch of acronyms?

Dilbert As FUCK
Sep 8, 2007

by Cowcaster


Pillbug

paperchaseguy posted:

i think you're wanted here

That is almost as bad as when I first started this gig and came to find out the shared storage was actually openfiler VM's. I mentioned that wasn't really shared storage and a terrible idea, he basically looked at me like I insulted his grandmother.

bonus: the OP VM's were thin provisioned

skipdogg
Nov 29, 2004
Resident SRT-4 Expert


YF19pilot posted:

So tell me what a terrible decision I am making.

I'm currently looking at going to work for Dell Compellent as some flavor of support monkey. I do want this job, so I'm using this thread to bone up on Enterprise Storage, and yes, I've read the OP.

What is SA's OfficialTM opinion on Dell Compellent? How does (Automated) Tiered Storage work? What should I read up on to not sound like some idiot that just memorized a bunch of acronyms?

Dell Compellent is generally favorable reviewed here if it meets the needs for the situation it's being deployed in.

Mierdaan
Sep 14, 2004



Pillbug

YF19pilot posted:

So tell me what a terrible decision I am making.

I'm currently looking at going to work for Dell Compellent as some flavor of support monkey. I do want this job, so I'm using this thread to bone up on Enterprise Storage, and yes, I've read the OP.

What is SA's OfficialTM opinion on Dell Compellent? How does (Automated) Tiered Storage work? What should I read up on to not sound like some idiot that just memorized a bunch of acronyms?

We're using Compellent here and it's been a pretty good experience so far.

We just upgraded to SC 6.1.3 a few weekends ago and had some minor issues, so don't be a support monkey who racks the controllers in the wrong order and swaps the faceplates. Don't be that guy.

I also have a VMware server whose iscsi HBAs don't all show up correctly in Enterprise Manager or Storage Center. I asked tech support about it and they nervously laughed, assured me that it's just a display bug and they can see the HBA from the secure console just fine... not real confidence inspiring!

paperchaseguy
Feb 21, 2002

THEY'RE GONNA SAY NO

Corvettefisher posted:

That is almost as bad as when I first started this gig and came to find out the shared storage was actually openfiler VM's. I mentioned that wasn't really shared storage and a terrible idea, he basically looked at me like I insulted his grandmother.

bonus: the OP VM's were thin provisioned

:thumbsup:

eta for content: IHAC who didn't know how much space they had available on their XIV

bort
Mar 13, 2003



We have good experiences with our Compellents and the support organization, but we also have a crackerjack reseller who helps the relationship. I'd be a little concerned about working for Dell, just because they're now so huge and still integrating Compellent, EqualLogic and Force10. There are also some weird decisions lately, for example their NAS head, the FS8600, is only just being released and will only support Fibre Channel, and not ISCSI. But overall I like their storage roadmap and I think they're going in the right direction.

If you want to learn about data progression, replays and so forth, I'd just poke around their site, e.g. here. "Dell Compellent Best Practices" may turn up some good documents, if you don't have access to Copilot there may be :filez:

I guess I'd prefer to go work for the EqualLogic team. There's also always Partners Data, who's really coming up in the world.

YOLOsubmarine
Oct 19, 2004

When asked which Pokemon he evolved into, Kamara pauses.

"Motherfucking, what's that big dragon shit? That orange motherfucker. Charizard."



bort posted:

There's also always Partners Data, who's really coming up in the world.
I hear they're about to double thier installed base!

Vulture Culture
Jul 14, 2003

I was never enjoying it. I only eat it for the nutrients.


NippleFloss posted:

I hear they're about to double thier installed base!
Technically, it's two different departments in the same organization.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Rhymenoserous
May 23, 2008


Misogynist posted:

Technically, it's two different departments in the same organization.

Two units is more than one. Sky is the limit.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Post
  • Reply