Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Slaan
Mar 16, 2009

ASHERAH DEMANDS I FEAST, I VOTE FOR A FEAST OF FLESH
I live in the South, and your written Southern is pretty close, don't worry.

I studied in Osaka, but I still don't know enough Japanese to pick out the different dialects. :(

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

veekie
Dec 25, 2007

Dice of Chaos

Spirit Armor posted:

Nnnnnot really. As far as I can tell, most translators just bullshit it play it by ear and hope for the best.

Heck, if you look at most manga/anime series, they can't really agree on what to do when confronted with a dialect of some sort. The earliest dub of Evangelion dropped Toji's accent entirely, while in the Azumanga Daioh manga, fans wrote out Osaka's accent into a Southern drawl while the official translation turned it into a New York accent, and I'm pretty sure the Excel Saga manga started dipping into (relatively) obscure British accents.

... meanwhile, I'm rendering Kohran's accent into what I think a Southern-ish accent sounds like without actually knowing anything about it. If anyone really wants to translate an accent from Japanese into English, I would not recommend following my example. :v:
Well, what's the Osaka stereotype supposed to be anyway?
If it lines up well enough, whatever works I guess.

RyuujinBlueZ
Oct 9, 2007

WHAT DID YOU DO?!

veekie posted: