Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

5er
Jun 1, 2000
Probation
Can't post for 4 hours!

Foremost I'm not a musician, but I hang out with a lot of them, and if I misused any semantics I apologize.

I've been a supporter of Dimmu for years. I think their best work started with ICS Vortex's joining the band, which is often the point that the even older, 'more real' Dimmu fans argue when they went to poo poo. The way Vortex's clean vocals offset Shagrath impacted me the most. I could probably emulate some bullshit Pitchfork Media review and try to clinically itinerize the reason why I think it sounds good, but I'm just going to leave it at that.
Spiritual Black Dimensions and Puritanical Misanthropic Euphoria are my two favorite albums of theirs, and of any band's. They both have the distinguishing point that they are albums I can listen to from front to back without skipping tracks. DCA has a couple of my favorite tracks of theirs of their career, but still has a couple songs that are kind of boring- and who knows what the gently caress happened with ISD.

And now we have 'Abrahadabra'. I think the name is a warning. It sounds like something a kid would shout while performing a parlor trick they bought in a plastic baggie at Spencer's. I have given this album start-to-finish listens almost daily since I got it, and I have arrived at a very disappointing verdict- it's awful.