Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Coopsy
Jan 30, 2011

I'm a fashion student and I made this from a terrible old pattern for practice. They were out of the floral I wanted to use, so corn it was. Blind hemming and manually gathering that much fabric made me feel ill. I ignored the rick-rack the pattern called for because rick-rack is gross.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Coopsy
Jan 30, 2011

amishsexpot posted:

Oh my god - where did you get this corn fabric?? If you have any extra yards, I will buy it from you!

:swoon:

Also - nice job on the dress! Did you have to manually gather it? I much prefer doing 2 rows of large stitches and pulling while holding the under-strings - so much easier. What school are you going to?

I live in rural Australia and bought it from a local store here that is really trashy. You can get it online here though.

And thanks, it is the first thing I've ever sewn besides two basic calico skirts for school. I tried gathering like that but kept snapping the threads so I just gave in and hand-gathered it. I go to TAFE because it's the only place in my state that offers fashion. Unsure what the American equivalent is, community college maybe? It's actually a really nice fashion program though.

Edit: Also requesting more Hana Dammit!

Coopsy fucked around with this message at 01:47 on May 6, 2011

Coopsy
Jan 30, 2011