Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Calidus
Oct 31, 2011

Stand back I'm going to try science!
Are expensive pocket hole jigs worth it? I am just getting started with out wood working. I have some c clamps, and a drill and a couple saws from my home improvement projects.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Calidus
Oct 31, 2011

I underestimated the amount of saw dust involved with using a router. I regret not just buying the stupid $25 edge guide right away. I spent way to much time trying to make a jig to put a dado in 4”x4”x8’.

Calidus
Oct 31, 2011

Kaiser Schnitzel posted:

now it’s too short so you cut the opposite side down....

I am perfectly capable of doing this without miters being involved

Calidus
Oct 31, 2011

I need more clamps, I have a cheap set of spring clamps from one of the box stores. I would like to be able to clamp some bigger pieces down, so I am thinking 6" to 12" inches. Do I just buy a a couple of cheapest bar clamps I can find online? Is there some super value brand out there?

Calidus
Oct 31, 2011

I sanded what was left of clear coat off my cheap kitchen table then applied polyurethane. I really should have stopped after 3 coats. Coat 4 looked bad, I tried sanding it off and applying another coat. It didn’t help. Now I am 5 coats in the and sick of the project.

Also labeling drying time using an ambient temperature of 77 degrees is complete trash.

Calidus
Oct 31, 2011