Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

PalmTreeFun
Apr 25, 2010

*toot*
OpenGL noob here, hoping that someone could give me a bit of help.

Alright, so I want to make a really simple 2D graphics engine with OpenGL. Basically, it would allow you to load in a texture (e.g. a .png using libpng, most likely RGBA format), apply it to a polygonal square or rectangle, and you could rotate or scale it, of course.

I've been trying to read the OpenGL Red Book chapter on texturing, but my mind is seemingly unable to handle the concept of simply putting a texture (or part of one, for animation purposes) on a single, quadrilateral polygon. Can anyone give me a little help here. Also, is there anything else I have to do (reformat the image, take into account byte ordering, setting OGL settings or using glEnable/Disable, etc.) to get this to work properly?

I can't imagine this could be that hard. I have managed to get a polygon drawn to the screen (I'm using GLFW, by the way), and I have a proper real-time loop created (GLFW doesn't use up main() like GLUT). I'm not a complete newbie at OpenGL, but I'm pretty close.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

PalmTreeFun
Apr 25, 2010

*toot*

Spite posted: