Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Unormal
Nov 16, 2004

Mod sass? This evening?! But the cakes aren't ready! THE CAKES!
Fun Shoe
Question for the gurus: I'm working on a writing little engine, using deferred shading. I've got it rendering to 3 FP16 color attachment textures + depth texture g-buffer; and I've got it rendering some crappy point lights, so that's all good.

So I'm basically new to OpenGL, and writing this from scratch, and my main question at this point is around the depth component of my g-buffer. I've got a GL_DEPTH_COMPONENT32 texture attached to depth on my g-buffer, but I don't really know how I'm 'supposed' to work with it.

1. Specifically, If I bind the texture, how do I access the value in a shader reasonably? texture2D returns 4 byte values, do I have to composite them manually into a single 32-bit value? Is there some easy GLSL way to access a 32-bit value from a FP texture that I'm missing?

2. What I really want to do is to re-use the depth stored in my g-buffer during my lighting pass, in my destination framebuffer, since I'm rendering my light volumes as little cubes. If I could enable depth testing, I could early out the pixels without running the fragment shader. I'd like to not have to do a new depth-only render for my framebuffer, since it seems wasteful since I have a depth texture already generated for my g-buffer.