Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Nebulis01
Dec 30, 2003
Technical Support Ninny

So I have a stupid question. I'm new to administering a SAN so please bear with me.

We just recently got a Dell Equalogic PS4000X. I configured it out of the box for RAID6 since it's mainly going to be used for read access. However I was exploring some of the volume options and it appears you can assign a raid type for the volume, but it won't change any of the member drives to fit this configuration.

My question is this:

Is it possible for a member to have more than one raid type or do all 16 drives have to be allocated to the same raid type? It seems like that would be a stupid design but I've not found anything in the documentation to answer it, or I'm blind and can't locate it.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Nebulis01
Dec 30, 2003
Technical Support Ninny

Intraveinous posted:

I'm not sure if that's how EQL works it or not, but I hope it wasn't a waste of time.

Not a waste of time at all, went back through it and still couldn't find an option for it. I submitted a support ticket to Dell yesterday and this what they said

EquaLogic Support posted:

Dell Storage Support received your request concerning your EQLC PS4000X stating that you have questions concerning multiple raid types on a single array.