Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Artificer
Apr 8, 2010

You're going to try ponies and you're. Going. To. LOVE. ME!!
I posted in the general USA Federal Government jobs a while ago, and I'll repost some parts of the information I posted there before dumping my questions.

I'm a 20 year old sophomore in college. Political Science major, english literature and philosophy double minor at the moment. Asian, if that's relevant. I speak Chinese (as well as English, obviously.)

I was recently pointed to the Law School thread by a friend and I realized that, gently caress, I don't want to go to Law School after all. Now I need options. Options and ideas for a career in order to fend off my family members who seem rather set on me being a lawyer or doctor or something along those lines.

I was always interested in a Federal Government job though, and on the recommendation of the general Federal Government Jobs thread, I took a look here and some of the FSO jobs do tickle my fancy, particularly the Political, Public Diplomacy, and Consular tracks, roughly in that order of preference.

First off, two questions: How tough is the job market for these positions right now? I realize that the job market in general is poo poo but is this any less poo poo?

Second, when should I start my application process, generally speaking?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Artificer
Apr 8, 2010