Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Fuegan
Aug 23, 2008

So I got bored of painting my oathed stuff for a while tonight and decided to try something new. Now I've never tried painting NMM before so the first attempt probably isn't great but I thought I'd post it here and get any constructive critism. The photo makes the lines look pretty messy so I can probably clear that up.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Fuegan
Aug 23, 2008

PaintVagrant posted:

Im not sure it looks like metal, but it looks rad :black101:

That's my main problem with it. I used some colours that were suggested to me but yeah it just doesn't look metal enough. I think it's probably a case of not getting the mixes right. I went with 50/50 Calthan and Snakebite Leather, then 3:1 SL and Bleached Bone, 2:1 SL/BB then 1:1, Skull White for some small highlight. Then washed over with Sunburst Yellow and added some more Skull White.

I might try and experiment with adding a bit of yellow into the mix and see if it gives me a lighter shade for the layers and actually make it look like gold instead of layers of brown.

Fuegan
Aug 23, 2008