Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Ugly In The Morning
Jul 1, 2010
Pillbug
I just started playing again, and a while ago I guess I installed Shifter, didn't play it, and forgot I had ever done it. That lead to what was probably the most confused Liberty Island playthrough ever. "What? Since when have there been different kinds of soda? Where did these rockets come from? WHAT HAPPENED TO MY PRECIOUS LASER SIGHT!:byodood:"
Oh, and is there anyway to tune down the GUI upscaling? I've been looking and having no luck.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Ugly In The Morning
Jul 1, 2010
Pillbug

...of SCIENCE! posted:

Exactly. It's just like how Call of Duty 4 is the usual dumb Tom Clancy military shlock but (back before it got so popular and everybody had to hate it because BROS and HIPSTERS liked it) everybody was raving about how the scene where you got nuked and died and the gun ship was so moving and emotional; games are an interactive medium, presentation and implementation is more important.

Well, I know for me that scene lost all its impact when MW2 came out and they seriously kill you like three times in that game. Deus Ex managed to present itself so that even when so-and-so betrays such-and-such, and it's the third or fourth betrayal in as many hours, it still felt fresh.

Ugly In The Morning
Jul 1, 2010
Pillbug