Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

axeil
Feb 14, 2006
So is overclocking typically done through the BIOS? I'm pretty new to this, but I've read through the overclocking thread and understand the general way the process works. I'm just a bit unsure about how you actually go about setting the multiplier and such.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

axeil
Feb 14, 2006
I've got an i5 4790k in my system. I had been debating upgrading to whatever the newest architecture is, maybe even jump from i5->i7 to make stuff like EU4/CK2/etc run faster but I'm getting the sense now that I should just wait till late 2018/early 2019 to consider any upgrades to the CPU/Motherboard.

Is that accurate?

edit: Also it seems like I should rely on just the Windows update and not try and flash my BIOS or anything to fix the Meltdown/Spectre bug. That correct?

axeil fucked around with this message at 22:01 on Jan 18, 2018

axeil
Feb 14, 2006

cinci zoo sniper posted:

BIOS may be needed for Spectre, Meltdown should be fixed by Windows update.

Are motherboard manufacturers even issuing BIOS updates for Haswell? I've got an Asus board and I saw in the past few pages they were a little more proactive than the rest but still not going back that far in terms of patches.

axeil
Feb 14, 2006