Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Chernabog
Apr 16, 2007

For a a few years I have wanted to get into 3D printing but never actually did it. Recently I have been doing more art projects so I figured it might be a good time to jump in. I have some experience with 3D software and modelling (Maya, Max) so on that front I think I'd be covered, right?

Since the OP no longer has any recent information I'm just going to post a bunch of questions:
1) Is this a good time to start? Has the tech improved and/or the price gone down over the last couple of years?
2) Is there a good and recent starter guide you can point me towards?
3) What are the best newbie-friendly printer models?
4) For my first project I want to make gears, about 10cm (4in) in diameter. They wouldn't be for heavy use, but they would still be moving gears so I'm wondering if they'd be durable enough. I believe some of that would come from the design itself, specifically the width of the teeth, but also from the material. Do you think this would work?

TIA

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Chernabog
Apr 16, 2007

Here4DaGangBang posted:

Check out Maker’s Muse on YouTube, he made some gears for a combat robot which had to deal with pretty large forces and worked fairly well from what I remember. There are variables here like material used which will greatly affect the end result but th a short answer to your question is yes that should be quite doable.