Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Bag of Carpets
Dec 20, 2010
This is a really great thread, thanks guys. A year ago I graduated from a (university) program which specialized in many aspects of web production, but mostly on front end production. Halfway through my program I realized I wanted to start doing a lot more backend coding so I started doing a lot of independent work with PHP, SQL and Javascript. My final year project supervisor liked what he saw and hired me on for a year to develop plugins and modules as an extension of his research for open-source CMSs.

Basically, I want to move into the private sector and find a job developing web applications. I know that having only PHP, SQL and Javascript on my resume wouldn't look the best, so what would you recommend I learn next? (I was thinking Java or Ruby on Rails) Is there any books you would recommend to learn about common algorithms and data structures? Any tips for marketing myself as I do not have a CS degree?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Bag of Carpets
Dec 20, 2010

kimbo305 posted:

The Java analog to RoR is J2EE, which is really bulky in typical Java fashion. I wouldn't recommend you do that if only because the cross section of companies willing to develop a J2EE based website tends to be bigger and stodgier than the company that'd be willing ot use RoR.