Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Infinotize
Sep 5, 2003

Roughly how in-depth were those questions? I realize they certainly gave you an NDA. I've thought about applying there and I probably will anyway, but I feel like I'm gonna have to spend 2 months refreshing on algorithms and complexity and whatnot. I've been working for 5+ years now and I can't say I used any of that knowledge from school more than a couple of times (and in the real world, wikipedia is always right there).

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Infinotize
Sep 5, 2003

So it seems like NYC has some pretty good prospects for engineers based on this thread. I am gonna be moving there within a few months and looking for work, it looks like there is actually a decent software scene there. Though after 5 years of doing C and Perl it feels like being fluent in latin or something.

Infinotize
Sep 5, 2003

I'm getting ready to job hunt soon. I've had a few months off but before that I was working as a developer for a little over 5 years at the same company (which in its industry is well known). I don't have any side projects but I would think that much experience, while not a ton, would more than make up for it. I'm planning on doing some interview question practice in various languages to get my chops back and brush up on some CS theory I haven't used in a while before I start trying to get interviews.