Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us $3,400 per month for bandwidth bills alone, and since we don't believe in shoving popup ads to our registered users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.
«300 »
Hadlock
Nov 9, 2004

Incoming total newbie post. I have some general questions.

I've been watching far, far too much PeterSirpol and RCTestFlight etc lately

Can someone explain how these things work exactly? I've done some servo robotics BS (tower pro sg-90s and some larger servos but I've bought more than my fair share of 10-packs of sg-90s along with servo testers) in the past so I have a little background, but I was using 2.4ghz bluetooth to control the robot not uh, traditional RC stuff.

This is what I understand:

Some sort of standard radio controller like you might see a super nerd with
Standard radio receiver to ???
Ardupilot device (Pixhawk 2.4.8?)
Some sort of motor controller
The actual motor/servo

uhh or better yet

screenshot from here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAu6jkgACoc

(click to embiggen)

This seems deceptively simple

1. standard radio controller?
2. towerpro sg-90 or compatible
3. is this the radio reciever? radio antenna? looks like it could be gps but I doubt it
4. high amp motor controller for brushless dc motor
5. looks like a medium amp mutli-volt to 5v adapter for the pixhawk
6. pixhawk
7. piezo buzzer