Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Hedningen
May 4, 2013

Enough sideburns to last a lifetime.
I knew this thread would be entertaining when I saw the banner ad with a nyckelharpa on it. I've been playing for seven years now, and it is probably one of the finest (and weirdest) instrument I've had the chance to play. I'd like to ask how non-Swedish speakers are getting along, though - a lot of how I learned was through a couple spellmanslags when I lived over there, along with Alpsjö's Spela Nyckelharpa series, which only has the first book translated. I've been meaning to translate volumes 2 and 3 (which have some really good tips for double-stops and other fun tricks that give it such character), but aside from folks in the ANA, I never really meet up with other 'harpa players.

More on-topic, I've been meaning to build a jouhikko for a while - anyone have any experience with the crwth-style bowed lyres? Even if you know a good source for this sort of instrument - the closest I've been able to easily find is a guy in California who builds talharpas.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Hedningen
May 4, 2013

TapTheForwardAssist posted: