Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Three-Phase
Aug 5, 2006

by zen death robot
Did I really make the title "As me" instead of "Ask me"? Dammit, I'm so dumb as hell. :smith:

ABOUT ME
I've been working for several years in the electrical power and controls field. It's been a blast (figuratively), I really enjoy my field. The job can be challenging and frustrating at times, but it's still rewarding to see something you designed come to life.

INDUSTRIAL ELECTRICITY
Large industrial establishments (chemical plants, steel mills, factories) use tremendous amounts of electricity. A power company typically supplies electricity to these users at a high voltage, from 6900V to 138000V. In a plant, that voltage is stepped down and transferred around the facility to where it's needed. There are three key components, transformers, breakers, and busses.

Transformers - these step down (or up) a voltage. Typical ratios at a plant would be:
13.8kV to 4160V - this takes the electricity supplied by the power company and drops it to a lower (but still high) voltage for distribution around the plant
4160V to 480V (or 480/277V) - lots of equipment in a plant runs at 480V/277V, such as motors, heaters, and some high-bay lighting
4160V to 120/208V - this is for things like your computer, microwave oven, and some lighting