Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us $3,400 per month for bandwidth bills alone, and since we don't believe in shoving popup ads to our registered users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.
«24 »
Slanderer
May 6, 2007

i'm not mad,
this is actually funny to me

Soiled Meat

dedian posted:

I'm still learning all this stuff of course but the benefit I've found of not making a mash and instead just rough chopping the peppers is I can just separate the brine when they're done, blend peppers to desired consistency, and then mix the amount of brine back in that I want for taste.

Is there a big difference in the taste of the ferment if you mash vs brine + pepper chunks?

I've been trying these lids out (http://a.co/d/2uo4qeb) which are nice because you get a little pump to suck out the air if you have to remove the lid late into the ferment when your veggies won't be producing so much CO2. I haven't done a whole lot of fermenting with it but they're a whole lot easier to get off than the lids + regular airlocks I had before.

The rough chop makes sense, and I had thought about doing the exact same thing with brine separation. No idea how it affects the final flavor though. I started fermenting several pounds of cayennes last weekend, but I set aside a few pounds that weren't quite ripe yet--maybe I'll try chopping those by hand and seeing how it measures up.