Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Admin Understudy
Apr 17, 2002

Captain Pope-tastic
Just got back from a bourbon & rye tasting. I've been drinking scotch for about 5 years but didn't know bourbon beyond Maker's Mark (which I enjoyed).

We went through

Basil Hayden 8yr
Bakers Small 7yr
Makers Mark 46
Old Overholt 80 Rye (explained as a good inexpensive bottle, something to make a manhattan with)
Knob Creek Rye

I ended up buying a bottle of the Basil Hayden 8yr, although the Bakers was a close 2nd for me. Between the 2 ryes I actually liked the Old Overholt more, it was very light and had that citrus note I guess I'm supposed to notice between rye and bourbon.

Some guy I was talking with said if I liked the Bakers I should try Bookers next. I'll probably do some research while I'm going through this bottle but any feedback from here on the few I tried?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Admin Understudy
Apr 17, 2002

Captain Pope-tastic
And the next step up is their Sauternes, even sweeter. I have both of those, the Quinta Ruban and Nectar D'or at home and enjoyed them both. The fruitiness of the port really does come through in the former and the incredible sweetness of the sauternes is very prominent in the latter. I recommend exploring the whole Glenmorangie line to get decent examples of what different barrels bring to the scotch.

Admin Understudy
Apr 17, 2002

Captain Pope-tastic

Toiwat posted: