Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Brick Shipment
Jun 22, 2009

Well I've never done this before. Drawing from life (well, photos of life) is hard.

So it's pretty atrocious. I especially need to get the head proportions right and I can't draw that hand without it looking like a pig hoof. Also the left hard got cut off because I ran out of room on the paper :v:

Critiques/help greatly appreciated :)

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

moonsour
Feb 13, 2007

Ortowned

Kikka posted:

If you make a lovely line, just erase it and make a new one.

I honestly know about two people who can consistently draw exactly the kind of line they want with the first stroke. The more lines you make, the more confident you'll be at making them.
I'd suggest trying your hand at images where you don't erase lines at all, even if you mess up. Also practice drawing all sorts of lines (varying thickness, tapering, curvature etc.), basic shapes help too; I find that drawing spirals as well and accurately as you can with just one line is great practice.

Also your one-line technique would look really great if you refined it a lot. Right now it's kind of shaky and messy, but still pretty cool.
Just keep drawing lines, and don't worry if you mess up or have to erase lots of lines.

Pretty sure that's his blind contour, which is this week's assignment.

FluxFaun
Apr 7, 2010

Little Miss RKO posted: