Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

TANZENTURTLE
Oct 15, 2009

Pikachuuuuu

drat, never realised how many goons were into diving. Ive been diving for almost 2 years and I completely love it. Mostly Ive dived in Sydney and several times in bali. Recently I acquired an underwater camera which is not too shabby, considering it wasnt much more than $200aud. Took it out diving last week (my first night dive) and i found that the best way to get a clear shot in a low light environment is to turn the flash and get a buddy/buddies to double up the torch light - the flash illuminates too much sediment - or to turn the camera to the video mode.

We always have great luck finding cuttlefish, my favourite. If youve never had the privilege to observe one up close it can be truly mindblowing, watching them change the patterns on their skin. Theyre apparently very intelligent creatures and they watch you very carefully, unless they of course try to chase you around a bit.

Here's some footage I edited together from the night dive at Camp Cove in Sydney harbour. Sorry if it's very shaky at times:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8peAUeUcK8Y

And some stills from Camp Cove: