Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Asymmetric POSTer
Aug 17, 2005

ttomkat posted:

So I am heading off to Belize in about 6 weeks and I am still fairly new to diving but I really want to capture what I see underwater.
I have been looking at underwater cameras, but I am still undecided. I don't have a huge budget for a full camera/strobe package. I am not looking to go pro, just to have fun and share my experiences with friends and family.

What should I go for or do you have any other suggestions?
HD Hero 2 with Backscatter UW Housing

Canon S100 w/Ikelite UW Housing

I need a new camera so I am leaning towards the S100, but I am open to suggestions.

Thanks!

I'd go for an S100 with the official Canon Housing, not the Ikelite.

I've been diving with the S90 since it came out and for the size/price, it takes pretty nice shots.

Just make sure (if you're buying it in store) it's not one of the recalled units

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Asymmetric POSTer
Aug 17, 2005

Absolutely stunning shots, bravo!

What camera are you using?

Asymmetric POSTer
Aug 17, 2005

Bishop posted:

Here's my dive buddy putting one on:

What kind of post-editing was done on this photo to make her suit look like a leather cat suit? I also like the matching yellow weights and trim on the knife.

Asymmetric POSTer
Aug 17, 2005

Bangkero posted: