Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Butter Activities
May 4, 2018

Is there a specific thread for home assistant? I just bought a raspberry PI, sd card/reader and a router/cable setup so I can start making a smarthome without Jeff bezos watching me masturbate.

I have some python and Linux experience so I figure it won’t be too bad. Philips hue stuff is apparently all compatible with the system so custom lighting will be my first thing, followed by a sensor/camera setup.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Butter Activities
May 4, 2018

Rexxed posted:

I think some folks in the home automation and security system thread use it.

Oh sweet- thank you!

Looks like a lot of possibilities.

Butter Activities
May 4, 2018

gently caress I need another flash drive for this thing

Butter Activities
May 4, 2018

gently caress me my power source slipped and now after re-attaching it nothing seems to work. I just get a red light.

Do I need a new SD card? I’ve re flashed it several times.

Butter Activities
May 4, 2018

xtal posted:

If you've re flashed it, I assume its recognized and read/writable from another computer, but the Pi isn't booting from it?

Yeah just a solid red light which means power but no bios to boot from right?

Butter Activities
May 4, 2018

Alright turns out the disk could be saved, I just needed to d/c the power supply before re inserting it after another re flash. And it worked!

Butter Activities