Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Progressive JPEG
Feb 19, 2003

Grump posted:

I am a software developer that knows absolutely nothing about how to program for the Raspberry Pi, but I want to start a new sideproject to get my dehumidifier to text me when it's full.

Where do I start? The guides on the official site seem very general and don't get into too much code.

I have a Mitsubishi dehumidifier which has instructions in the manual for converting from tank storage to a drain hose. While it's not as cool or as educational as building something that pushes a message when it's full, you may ultimately find it's more practical to just do a drain conversion.

But with that disclaimer I'd still say go for the crazy LED sensor method.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Progressive JPEG
Feb 19, 2003

I'm looking into ways to power something like 5 to 10 Pi 4s. Turns out an ATX power supply typically includes a beefy 5v rail that might be able to do this cheaply.

I'm thinking of making an adapter box with a female ATX connector and a bunch of power-only USB ports. The red/5v lines from the ATX connector would then provide 5v to the USB ports.

AFAIK some things to make sure of would be:
- Ensure that all 5v wires are used rather than just one. I could see there being heat/voltage drop issues with just using one of them.