Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

speedtek
Nov 26, 2004

Let's make it out, baby.
Hi all,

I've been using my OG pi for a couple years now as my usenet download/NAS, and it's worked well so far. However, I've noticed that network transfer speeds have been slower than they should be. I've got my files shared out via SMB (for my Windows PC's) and NFS (for my FireTV running Kodi), and according to vnstat the maximum throughput I seem to get is a steady ~1MB/sec. According to what I've found online I should be getting at least 3-5MB/sec. I'm on a wired connection and the pi is overclocked to 900mhz.

I've spent a lot of time lately trying various fixes and I'm starting to think something may be wrong with the NIC. Would anyone be willing to help me out, perhaps even privately? I can even throw a few bucks your way. I'd rather try to see if this is fixable before just trying my luck with a Pi3.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

speedtek
Nov 26, 2004

Let's make it out, baby.

theperminator posted:

Is the 3-5MB figure accounting for you saturating your USB bus with IO as well as the networking? Why would anyone torture themselves by using a Pi as a nas? You could be getting literally 100x the performance with anything else.

Trying to get away with using as little power as possible. I'm only storing movies, TV shows and music on it. So far everything works great, except anything that's both 1080p and DTS.