Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

barkbell
Apr 14, 2006

woof
I would like to create a dawn simulator/wake up light alarm clock since the ones by Philips suck. I found a few youtube vids of people doing something similar with source code linked. I have never messed with any RPs before and am a complete noob. What are the best resources available to learn to do my first build as well as parts sellers etc? I think Python is the go-to language for programming a Pi?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

barkbell
Apr 14, 2006

woof
Aren't smart lights wifi? I really don't want to crowd my wifi network anymore than it is. If they are bluetooth are they reliable? Bluetooth would unpair for me in the past randomly. Since I'd use it as an alarm I need something very reliable.

I would want some light that would create a bright enough light to wake me up, 300 lux let's say, and can dim.

barkbell
Apr 14, 2006

woof
So you suggest for the light using a smart lightbulb. How about for a speaker?

barkbell
Apr 14, 2006

woof

Hadlock posted:

Get set of neopixels

https://www.adafruit.com/product/1487

Find some code (probably in python, preferably 3.6+) that will run each pixel at the same color, then decide you start and end colors, run a for loop with a delay inside

Then run the python script from a cron job to execute at X time

This assumes you live on the equator where the sun rises at the same time every day