Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us $3,400 per month for bandwidth bills alone, and since we don't believe in shoving popup ads to our registered users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.
«81 »
gimpsuitjones
Mar 27, 2007

What are you lookin at...

A note: I've been shooting long range for over 5 years, and I am still learning things all the time. I don't claim to know everything or be the ultimate expert. If you find something that you disagree with, I would strongly encourage you to discuss it.

LONG RANGE SHOOTING
What is long range shooting? I define it as essentially any shooting at a range where you have to compensate for significant ballistic and environmental factors, and correcting for these factors to achieve the goal of hitting a target efficiently and accurately. For a .22lr, this could be 200 meters, for a .308, 800 meters.

In this thread I hope to cover the variables and important concepts involved, and the techniques and equipment required to be successful.

This is quite a lot of information, as long range as a category can include:

-Hunting
-"varminting"
-Casual Plinking
-Military or LE shooting (I'll leave the relevant specifics up to those with experience, however the basics of shooting are the same)
Competition, including:
-F Class
-LR Benchrest
-"Practical/Tactical/Sniper" competitions such as the Steel Safari
-that weird stuff with the open sights (Hi-power, Palma, etc). I don't know much about this so hopefully someone who does can chime in (forums user "sushi"?)