Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Dick Fagballzson
Sep 29, 2005
Picked up an MSI R9 290X along with an i7-4770k, Asus Sabertooth Z87 board, and 16GB Corsair DDR3 on newegg earlier today. I'll be upgrading from a Core 2 Quad Q6600 based system I've been using since early 2007, so this should be a massive upgrade. The incredible performance for the price and extremely high praise the 290X has received from all of the tech sites finally convinced me that maybe it was time to put my almost 7 year old system out to pasture. Also, the new consoles are just around the corner and it would be embarrassing if consoles are faster than my gaming PC.

Dick Fagballzson fucked around with this message at 02:21 on Oct 25, 2013

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Dick Fagballzson
Sep 29, 2005
I haven't unfortunately. I'm still using a GTX 460 from 2010 that replaced an 8800 GTS. The next gen consoles are a good deal faster than a GTX 460. I believe the GPU in the PS4 is roughly on par with a Radeon 7850.

Oh well, I'll be all caught up hardware-wise after this upgrade. And the 290X is so far beyond what the consoles will be running I can sleep easy knowing that future games will run fine. 290X is to the PS4 what the 8800GTX was to the PS3 essentially.

Dick Fagballzson fucked around with this message at 03:07 on Oct 25, 2013

Dick Fagballzson
Sep 29, 2005