Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

DeathBySpoon
Dec 17, 2007

I got myself a paper clip!
So I'm a few battles into FFT on the PSP and this is my first time playing it. Am I supposed to be rehiring my party after almost every battle, or am I just really bad at this? Ramza and the story characters are pretty much the only ones who survive each battle, with the hired squires just acting as meat shields. I just finished the battle in the woods after ditching castle guard duty- am I setting myself up for failure in the late game, or is that how early battles tend to go? Any other tips are greatly appreciated, although I already read the before I play entry on it. Thanks!

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

DeathBySpoon
Dec 17, 2007

Welp, I'm an idiot- I was having trouble with the game because I didn't know I could push Triangle on the stat screen to change jobs / abilities / etc. Thanks everyone for the advice, I started over and I'm doing much much better this time.

DeathBySpoon
Dec 17, 2007

TurnipFritter posted:

Don't feel bad, the first time I played I didn't realize you could select other units to dispatch by pressing L/R on the pre-battle formation screen.

I actually quit the game as a kid because of this. I tried so hard to beat that first battle with just Ramza :(

DeathBySpoon
Dec 17, 2007