Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Your Computer
Oct 3, 2008

Grimey Drawer

I've been racking my brains over this but I'm still a beginner at game programming and I have no idea how to do it. I'm using Monogame and C#, but the problem (and solution?) would probably be common to all the typical game/media libraries.

What I want is a tile-based engine where each tile can have multiple "properties"; At the most basic, the properties could be "ground (not interactive)", "collision (interactive)" and "top layer (not interactive)", and by splitting it into three layers, the map could be interacted with and rendered easily.

One way I could solve it would be to create a tileset for each property and render them on top of each other, but that seems like it would be hell to manage (both drawing/creating and displaying) so the first thing that came to mind was some sort of masking. Using the original tileset, I just painted over it using different colors for the different properties, green for ground, red for collision and blue for top layer to make this mockup:

Map using normal tileset

Same map rendered with the mask tileset;
I want green to be rendered first, red to be used for collision detection and blue to be rendered on top of the player