Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

wins32767
Mar 16, 2007

xopods posted:

...down the road we're going to have shouting matches about what it is and isn't reasonable to expect to be obvious to a total beginner.

It gets even worse than that. I've been trying to teach someone who is a world class Magic player how to play wargames on the high end of the complexity scale. Stuff that is obvious to other people that have played hex games (what are the key hexes for a given defensive line for example) is a challenge to someone who has mostly only played Magic. Even someone with excellent abstract reasoning capability is going to be at a disadvantage in their first game against another beginner that has played a game from the same family.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

wins32767
Mar 16, 2007

A game set in a civil war might work pretty well if we tweak the premise a bit to where the linked games are competing with each other.

You could have regime loyalists who are trying to sock away resources in case they lose or political positioning if they win (which are of course mostly mutually exclusive actions) and rebels who are trying to position for the most amount of government power if they win or international fame (think Che or Trotsky) if they lose.

wins32767
Mar 16, 2007

xopods posted: