Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Heer98
Apr 10, 2009
Hey! I've been working myself up at my MSP for four years (stared at helpdesk 1) and I'm finally looking to grab some CompTIA certifications before I apply elsewhere. I powered through the Professor Messer YouTube series on Network+ while taking copious amounts of notes, and now I'm taking practice tests from a guidebook. How prepared do you guys think that would make me to take the exam, and are there any particular areas that stuck out to you as needing additional focus?

Thanks!

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Heer98
Apr 10, 2009
Huh, thanks. So it's mostly common sense stuff, a few gotcha type questions and then some rote memorization with regard to port numbers and cable runs?

Heer98
Apr 10, 2009

xThrasheRx posted:

Still wondering about this! Any last help before I take the test? :)

I’m cramming for the test too, although my exam compass scores are slightly lower!

I’ve been working on my port numbers a lot, I assume that’ll be important.

Heer98
Apr 10, 2009

BaseballPCHiker posted:

I cant think of any other free practice tests out there but dont sweat it to much. I took it a few years back and its the standard CompTIA garbage. Memorize some hash and encryption types, know the difference between attack types and then just use common sense.

Are there typically any simulations, or is it really mostly just regurgitation?

Heer98
Apr 10, 2009