Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

wrong way
Oct 20, 2009

That's ok I guess
Hey everyone I could use some advice. I’m a grad of a 2 year IT program at a local collage and have the Security+ cert and I’m currently looking for work. My question is should I double back and get the network + and\or A+? Or move on to tougher security related certs as that is my career goal. I also have about 2-3 years IT experience in a small business.

Also if anyone has questions about the newish syo-401 I’d be happy to answer them.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

wrong way
Oct 20, 2009

That's ok I guess
Ya CCNA does sound like a good idea. My school said that they covered about 80% of the content in the first year shouldn't be too rough. My plan is to start the OCSP class next month because my school will pay for it. I'll try and take the CCNA in the next two weeks.

My end goal is something like a penetration tester but even with the certs it will still be a few years before that will happen.

I'll probably take the CISSP down the road but I'll wait until I'm a little closer to the 5 years requirement before studying.

wrong way
Oct 20, 2009

That's ok I guess

XakEp posted:

OSCP is one of those certs that you need to be ready to put in the time for - not memorize a lot of stuff for.

Oh yeah I meant that I'll start the two months of training in the next few weeks. The CCNA however I think I can pull off in the mean time.