Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

skooma512
Feb 8, 2012

You couldn't grok my race car, but you dug the roadside blur.
I bought an S+ book and I'm going to get an N+ one soon. Let's do this poo poo.

Any tips? Do I need A+ first in order to take those exams? I have a bachelors in IS where we had to take a class that's supposedly equivalent.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

skooma512
Feb 8, 2012

I just got my S+ book. If the SY0-301 version of the test is retired this year does that mean I have to do this poo poo again next year? Can I just claim an S+ on my resume once I have it even if the cert just slipped into being out of date?

skooma512
Feb 8, 2012

I've procrastinated literally all year and will likely take my S+ exam late November/early December. This S+ series expires at the end of the year.

Should I just plan to get the new book and start over? I have a feeling testing centers won't take me or won't have the soon to be expired exam that close to the end.

skooma512
Feb 8, 2012

Doing Security + in a couple weeks.

Just read the book, do the practice tests and memorize the port chart and I'm good right?

skooma512
Feb 8, 2012

Ozu posted:

As much as it gets poo poo on by InfoSec professionals, the CISSP actually holds weight with human resources and recruiters. Definitely head in that direction.