Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

penga86
Aug 26, 2003

GIG 'EM
I'm currently studying for the 70-640 and after reading and rereading Microsoft's certification site, I'm still confused. I can take 70-640, 642 and 646 prior to July and get the MCSA 2008, which I can then convert to MCSA 2012 by taking 70-417. Then I can take 413 and 414 to get MCSE.

Is this correct?

The only reason I want to go the 2008 route is because I had already purchased study guides for the 2008 tests not to mention I've only ever really worked with 2008 servers in the real world.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

penga86
Aug 26, 2003

GIG 'EM

madsushi posted:

I am just reading this now, but apparently you have to take 3 tests to upgrade from ITP 2008 to MCSE 2012? I was hoping it would just be a single upgrade test and I'd be done. Dang. :/

Yeah, MCSA is one test (417) and MCSE is two (413,414 or 415,416) plus the 417.

penga86
Aug 26, 2003

GIG 'EM

Nebulis01 posted:

I have the MCITP:EA and automagically obtained the MCSA2008 cert which i then upgraded to MCSA2012 and am sitting for the final test 70-414 for MCSE2012 on Friday.

Good luck. I'm sitting the 640 tomorrow :ohdear:

penga86
Aug 26, 2003

GIG 'EM

penga86 posted:

Good luck. I'm sitting the 640 tomorrow :ohdear:

Well i failed with a 570 score. I feel like a moron. Guess I'll brush up on certificates because I got killed on those questions.

penga86
Aug 26, 2003