Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Syncopated
Oct 21, 2010

I'm very new to climbing, took a basic outdoors climbing course last weekend, and I'm considering if I should go to a climbing meet that's being held over the weekend like 2 hours away and try to hook up with somebody to climb with. There's going to be 50-100 people there supposedly. I suppose that everyone will be better than me but maybe I can find someone to belay me on toprope anyways? What do you say goons?

Also, Stockholm climber dude, are you going to Tunaberg this weekend?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Syncopated
Oct 21, 2010

big scary monsters posted:

That really sucks, sorry to hear it. My experience after a bad fall of my own was that there's nothing to do apart from take it slow and work your way back towards confidence. Climb toprope, lead stuff that you couldn't fall off with both hands tied behind your back, take practice falls that are basically just slumping onto the rope, and build back towards proper falls gradually. Most important thing is having a patient belay partner who you trust and who'll encourage you to keep improving without pushing too hard too quickly. Alternatively if you're into it you could just boulder for a while just to get a bunch of time on rock without worrying about ropes and you might find much of the confidence has returned when you do finally tie in again.