Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
KillHour
Oct 28, 2007

After some interest in the Watch Dogs. thread in games, I figured I'd start a thread for those interested in knowing more about security.

First, a little about myself:

I design security systems for a living. I focus on physical security (cameras, door locks, badge readers, biometrics, etc.), but I also handle quite a bit of network security (firewalls, IPS, two-factor authentication, etc.). I've designed both very large (2,000+ camera), and very small (local gas station) systems, and I specialize in IP integration (putting cameras and other security devices on the network).

Have a question about what kind of system to get for your house?

Want to know if last night's episode of CSI was based on real technology or total bullshit? (It's probably bullshit.)

Wondering how a camera works?

Don't know the difference between IP and analog?

Curious about just how much big brother is watching you?

Ask away.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a lawyer. There are lots of privacy issues regarding surveillance in particular and while I may know enough about the subject to offer some insight, I am not qualified to give legal advice. Nothing I say should be taken as such. My general rule for designing surveillance systems is "Don't be creepy." If it's creepy, it may be illegal; check with a lawyer.